Author Topic: Possible software glitch  (Read 1760 times)

dgoldberg

  • Listener
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Possible software glitch
« on: November 02, 2016, 06:01:32 PM »
There seems to be a software glitch with BAE which could be related to the application itself or equipment I’m using.

Basically, if I switch input on the A/V receiver from PC to TV then back to PC it breaks the audio on the PC. That is, there is no sound coming from Breakaway. The only way to get it back is by restarting Breakaway. Here’s my setup.

PC: Intel NUC6i7KYK Kit
A/V: Yamaha RX-S600
TV: Samsung 55” LED LCD
5.1: Bose Acoustimas 10
OS: Windows 10 Pro v1607 x64

The PC is using the latest BIOS & drivers. The TV and receiver are using the latest firmware. I’m also using high quality HDMI 2.0 cables. I confirmed with another BAE user he has the same problem on his end and he's using a similar setup (PC, receiver and TV). Switching input to and from breaks the audio on the PC.

Is anyone else having this problem?

roverny

  • Intern
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2016, 06:40:37 PM »
I have this EXACT same issue, and unfortunately the company, which makes this great-very reasonably priced-product, seems to have no interest in supporting a fix.  :(

JesseG

  • Administrator
  • Chief Engineer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • View Profile
    • http://MasterfulAudio.com/
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2016, 09:58:58 PM »
That sounds like a hardware/software issue with the NUC and the receiver. The NUC is probably auto-sensing if something is plugged in, and the receiver is doing something to make the NUC think the cable is unplugged. So far that's not normal but should be fine. The problem is that the NUC's soundcard drivers must be doing something that prevents Breakaway (and ANY other program) from having a continuous output to the soundcard left going when it's doing that.

You should try contacting Intel about this problem, if it's not possible to turn off that "functionality" within the soundcard driver settings.

dgoldberg

  • Listener
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2016, 05:16:53 PM »
How do you know the issue is with the NUC and the receiver? I emailed Breakaway Support and their response was "...we have no way of duplicating your system and the problems you are experiencing." I attached a screenshot of their reply.

Also, another user is having the exact same problem and his setup is different than mine.

JesseG

  • Administrator
  • Chief Engineer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • View Profile
    • http://MasterfulAudio.com/
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2016, 08:11:42 PM »
Software that uses the soundcards have no way of preventing the soundcard driver from doing what it's doing in this case, which is what's causing the problem. There might be a setting in the soundcard driver's control panel, or windows soundcard settings, which turns off the automatic switching/disabling of inputs/outputs based on their connected state. If you're not able to change that setting so the soundcard driver isn't causing the problem, then I still suggest getting in touch with Intel so they can either add that option, or remove that "feature" which will end up breaking ANY software that needs continuous audio connection to the soundcard.

roverny

  • Intern
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2017, 03:02:09 AM »
The question is, does the sound work at all when this happens?

If no, then what JesseG says could be correct. 

If yes, then it would point to the software.

JesseG

  • Administrator
  • Chief Engineer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • View Profile
    • http://MasterfulAudio.com/
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2017, 10:09:01 PM »
Some software only opens connections to the soundcard when they need to play a sound, and in that case it wouldn't reveal the same issues.

Also, there's multiple ways to open a connection to a soundcard, and this might only be effecting one of those ways.

Are you guys using Wave/MME, DirectSound, or Kernel Streaming to connect to your soundcard?

roverny

  • Intern
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2017, 05:58:31 PM »
Good question, how would we tell?

Again we're using this: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/boards-and-kits/intel-nuc-kits/intel-nuc-kit-nuc6i7kyk.html so all we do is hook it up via HDMI to the A/V receiver and play something.  The sound is provided by the Intel GFX driver.

When you say soundcard it's confusing as there isn't one, this is all based off the processor.

JesseG

  • Administrator
  • Chief Engineer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • View Profile
    • http://MasterfulAudio.com/
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2017, 10:18:45 PM »
@ HDMI yes, I know. If it were SPDIF/DTS over coax/optical, then the NUC would have no way of being effected by the receiver.

@ "soundcard", even an AoIP driver such as Livewire is considered a soundcard in Windows, even though there's no specific hardware for it at all.

The only cheap solution might be to find an *active* (not passive) HDMI switcher that doesn't cut off the incoming connection/s when the outgoing connection is interrupted/disconnected/switched, and use that between your NUCs and receivers.

roverny

  • Intern
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2017, 12:42:50 AM »
That may be an option, will let you know.

One more development.  This ONLY happens with your software.  I uninstalled it and I haven't had an issue since. 

Again, I'm investigating on my side as well with Intel, but it sure seems to point to the software.

Thanks for all your help btw JesseG, I really do appreciate it!

roverny

  • Intern
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2017, 05:46:25 AM »
So, bad news for me, good news for you.  Looks like it's the Intel Display driver as I got the issue again with the software uninstalled.

Thanks for the help.

JesseG

  • Administrator
  • Chief Engineer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1456
    • View Profile
    • http://MasterfulAudio.com/
Re: Possible software glitch
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2017, 07:15:09 PM »
Things that don't perform as expected is not good news for anyone. Except for competing companies, sometimes.