Author Topic: Winlicence error with Avast update  (Read 799 times)

spotty69

  • Listener
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Winlicence error with Avast update
« on: February 14, 2017, 12:39:17 PM »
I'm running Windows 10. My Avast (free version) has just updated itself to v17.2.2286 (build 17.1.3394.0), and now Breakaway Audio Enhancer will no longer load, giving a "Winlicence" error (see attached picture)

If I disable Avast, it loads fine - so Avast is clearly the problem.

Has anyone else ha this issue?

Many thanks.

Milky

  • Global Moderator
  • Chief Engineer
  • *****
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: Winlicence error with Avast update
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 09:10:09 PM »
Have you updated to the latest release as per this link? http://www.forumclaessonedwards.com/forum/index.php/topic,5308.0.html

spotty69

  • Listener
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Winlicence error with Avast update
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 12:42:25 PM »
Yes - I actually only bought the software a couple of weeks ago and so I have the latest version.

spotty69

  • Listener
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Winlicence error with Avast update
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2017, 11:20:58 PM »
Hi, no further replies, is there any update on this?

I'm unable to run Breakaway with my chosen AV software. If there is no workaround I'll sadly have to ask for a refund as the software is non-functional.

Many thanks,

JesseG

  • Administrator
  • Chief Engineer
  • *****
  • Posts: 1442
    • View Profile
    • http://MasterfulAudio.com/
Re: Winlicence error with Avast update
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2017, 01:32:30 AM »
The makers of WinLicense have been notified and a new build that fixes it will be out shortly. In the mean time, you can disable Avast while starting Breakaway, and then re-enable it after Breakaway has started.



That works for me in my testing. I also use Avast on my personal systems. The thing that triggers the WinLicense protection is the new "Behavior Shield" in Avast.

Sorry for the inconvenience until the new build comes out.

spotty69

  • Listener
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Winlicence error with Avast update
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2017, 07:04:03 PM »
Thanks Jesse. I actually found out in the meantime that adding the Breakaway EXE to Avast's exclusion list also works.

Cheers!